Members

Contact Us

 

Mailing Address:
The Robert H. Smith Institute of
Plant Sciences and Genetics
in Agriculture
Herzl 229, Rehovot 7610001, Israel

Administrator: Neomi Maimon 
Tel: 972-8-948-9251,
Fax: 972-8-948-9899,
E-mail: neomim@savion.huji.ac.il

Secretary of teaching program:
Ms. Iris Izenshtadt
Tel: 972-8-9489333
E-mail: Iris.Izenshtadt@mail.huji.ac.il

Director: Prof. David Weiss
Tel: 972-8-948-9436
Fax: 972-8-948-9899
E-mail: david.weiss@mail.huji.ac.il

 

Emeritus Faculty

Arie Altman

Prof. Arie Altman

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489477 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9489899
arie.altman@mail.huji.ac.il
Building H
Molecular regulation of plant response to drought and salinity, Forestry biotechnology, Plant tissue culture and propagation, Plant gene-culture coevolution and niche construction.
Ben Ami Bravdo

Prof. Ben Ami Bravdo

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489094 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9462817
benami.bravdo@mail.huji.ac.il
Building H

Effects of cultural practices on crop productivity; control of root environment; interactions between plant and environmental factors; biosynthesis and metabolism of aroma compounds in fruit and wine.

Avigdor Cahaner

Prof. Avigdor Cahaner

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489214 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9489432 | Mobile: +972-(0)54-8820091
avigdor.cahaner@mail.huji.ac.il
Quantitative genetics; genotype-by-environment interaction(GxE); chicken breeding, DNA markers, heat tolerance, ascites, immune response, fat deposition, water consumption and feed efficiency.
kigel

Prof. Jaime Kigel

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489916
Jaime.Kigel@mail.huji.ac.il
Building H

Ecology of Mediterranean and semiarid plant communities, grazing effects, biodiversity and ecosystem functioning, plant-environment interactions, climate change, physiology and ecology of seed germination.

Joseph Riov

Prof. Joseph Riov

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)54-8820686 l Fax: +972-(0)8-9489544
joseph.riov@mail.huji.ac.il
Kennedy Leigh A, room 220
Mechanisms of controlling adventitious root formation, with an emphasis on auxin activity and metabolism. Genetics of forest trees.
Baruch Rubin

Prof. Baruch Rubin

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489248 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9362083 | Cell: +972-(0)54-8820054
rubin@mail.huji.ac.il
Building A
Weed biology and management; herbicide physiology and action in crops, weeds and environment; Mechanisms of herbicide-resistance in weeds.
Amnon Schwartz

Prof. Amnon Schwartz

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489917 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9489069 | Cell: +972-(0)52-8634452
amnon.schwartz@mail.huji.ac.il
Building A

Plant water relations, Plant gas exchange, Irrigation scheduling of orchards and vineyards based on physiological parameters.

Elisha Tel-Or

Prof. Elisha Tel-Or

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9489262 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9468785
elisha.telor@mail.huji.ac.il
Building A
Plant Responses to Environmental Abiotic Stresses; Phytoremediation of industrial sludges by the Nymphae is being developed for polluted sludge in Haifa Bay.
zamski

Prof. Eli Zamski

Emeritus
Tel: +972-(0)8-9481317 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9467763
eliezer.zamski@mail.huji.ac.il
Peanut crop improvement, Sugar metabolism in melon fruits, Petunia flowers development, Effects of salt stress on citrus cultures.